Remember to cycle in Holland

I think it has been 20 years since I owned a bike. Planning to move to Holland, I will have to start practicing again. Cycling is probably the most common form of transportation in the Netherlands. Cycling paths are just as well planned and built as the roads in Holland.

The first time I saw a woman on a bicycle with a dog and a kid, I was amazed. The dog was in a basket in front of the bicycle while the kid was sitting at the back in a kid chair. It was a funny sight. Their expertise and agility in carrying kids, groceries, pets, you name it and sometimes all at once is miraculous. I suspect they can even move houses with bikes!

As for myself when I am in Holland, I am more worried of getting hit by a bicycle rather than a car. There are so many of them plus the bicycle paths are actually on the pavement. Although they are clearly marked I tend to presume I am safe since I am on the pavement and cross bicycle paths without checking to see if anyone is coming. I should be able to get used to this in a short while. But what worries me even more is to be able to cycle with everyone else and in bicycle traffic. It is a bit scary. The Dutch somehow stop in traffic lights, overtake each other, cross major roads with such ease and fluency that it is intimidating. I bet they do not have any patience for newbies like myself. In Amsterdam there are many bicycle rental companies. You frequently see tourists on rented bikes and locals getting annoyed by their errors. Anyhow one has to start somewhere but I plan to practice a lot before going to any of the busy areas.

Another interesting sight for me was the multi-story bicycle parks. If I parked there I am not sure if I could find it ever again 🙂 All the bicycles seem to resemble each other.

If you come from a country where only kids cycle, it feels almost a bit foolish to use it as a form of transportation as an adult. At least that’s the first reaction but nowadays I am virtually envious. When I walk by a bicycle shop, I can not stop looking inside. They have such cute stuff. However I hear lots of bicycles end up being stolen so I may prefer not to get the most flashy one!

I found a video with a good overview of cycling in the Netherlands. It brought feelings of respect in me. Check it out if you would like to know a bit more. Cycling for Everyone

One thought on “Remember to cycle in Holland

  1. Pingback: We got some bikes!!! « Diet Frustrations

Leave a comment